Posted by: scienceutopia | September 3, 2007

Imagining the Tenth Dimension – Sounds crazy!

I’ve always had this lingering curiosity about the various dimensions, and never really understood past the 4th. We are told by physicists that, in string theory, the subatomic particles that make up our universe are created within ten spatial dimensions, by the vibrations of extremely small “superstrings”. Most of us have probably adapted to the idea of living in the 4th dimension and visualizing our world through a 3 dimensional perspective, and the average person wouldn’t be able to envisage past this. However, this video that I came across called “Imagining the Tenth Dimension” enables you to better understand the 10 dimensions. Really, to us, the 10th dimension sounds like a mind-boggling and crazy concept, but the video simplifies it by giving us basic examples of how to conceive it. Take a look:

First time I saw this video I was re-winding and re-watching, after having lost myself at the 7th dimension, but I think I’ve understood the full gist of it now! The video is based on the first chapter of a book called “Imagining the Tenth Dimension” by Rob Bryanton and is said to be “the new way of thinking about time and space”. I think I might buy myself this book!

The official website of the book is located here.

Responses

  1. Nice find! Thanks for sharing that with us!

  2. That’s such a cool video! I shall certainly be using it for later reference!

    But the examples don’t refer to any form of reality, although I suppose it’s a bit difficult to understand the ideas presented without using bizarre examples like the ones in the video. They make it more interesting!


Leave a Reply

Categories

